ZODIAC’s Crimes and Times– Update

I’ve been immersed in the early 1970s for months now in order to catch the spirit of the times and seasons as I write HorrorScope. It is amazing what comes back to you. I was just a nipper, of course. Sometimes, to hear me speak of my age, I was not even born yet. But watching these old movies, remembering our visits to the city as a kid (I grew up south of there in Gilroy) when mom visited her old friend Eileen, does create a powerful impression of lost horizons.

Much has changed since then. I’m one of those who dearly misses the Embarcadero Freeway. I don’t care what some say. The area is a traffic nightmare, one that did not exist when the double decker freeway was in place.

Embarcadero1

We do not live in the wake of the counterculture movement of the late 1960s, as so many think. We live in the wake of the highly overproduced Yuppie era of the 1980s– the decadent 80s and the age of excess, where Philistines dominated and acted, as Philistines always do, according to their unlearned impressions of what its like to be responsible. Part of that attitude carries with it a misplaced cynicism. Marketing was replaced by conning.  I can’t imagine that anyone would believe it would be wise to remove the Embarcadero Freeway.

But this is not a rant. This is an update on HorrorScope. I am done with Part 1– the Crimes and Times section. Now I enter the picture with my analysis and my own investigation. Wisely, this is titled Part 2. Well, I’m over my word goal. I’m at 72,000 words and still have much to write, so some editing will be necessary. As it stands, these are the chapters for Part 1.

Introduction                    “This is the Zodiac Speaking”

Chapter 1                        The Sign of the Crimes

Chapter 2                        Sadistically Gunned

Chapter 3                        Silence of the Peacocks

Chapter 4                        Murder Said Easy

Chapter 5                        Gamester of Death

Chapter 6                        Good Times in Vallejo

Chapter 7                        Ceremonial Bum

Chapter 8                        Zodiac

Chapter 9                        Ante

Chapter 10                      Boastful Player

Chapter 11                      Comic Strip Crusade

Chapter 12                      Quixotic

Chapter 13                      Southern Exposure

Chapter 14                      Billowy Wave

Chapter 15                      Titwillo

 

It’s nice to be writing a book again. I had given up for a few years, burdened by EAR/ONS and an entire new website — The Quester Files– and by life’s gambols. Hopefully, I can get myself up to pace again. Also,  I wait upon a few pieces to fall into place to make it sure the investigation into Wilcox will proceed smoothly.

DH2

*         *          *

Since 1990 Gian J. Quasar has investigated a broad range of mysterious subjects, from strange disappearances to serial murders, earning in that time the unique distinction of being likened to “the real life Kolchak.” However, he is much more at home with being called The Quester. “He’s bloody eccentric, an historian with no qualifications who sticks his nose into affairs and gets results.” He is the author of several books, one of which inspired a Resolution in Congress.

2 thoughts on “ZODIAC’s Crimes and Times– Update

  1. I have been a silent reader on your site for a while now. I’m most interested in reading about your investigation on the Zodiac. It has a lot of interesting information that I’ve never seen elsewhere and I’ve read a bunch of website/articles on the case. I really like your style of writing as well and have purchased Bermuda Triangle. I will most definitely purchase this book once it’s completed. Keep up with your great work Gian! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

