There is Something There . . .

It is that witching time of the year again. That time when even the most insulated of us likes to seek a chill and thrill. I must admit for someone who does what I do for a hobby it is ironic that my preferred Halloween fare is Abbott & Costello Meet Frankenstein. But I must equally admit that of all the mysteries I have pursued for the last 26 years the hunt for the human predator is the most stimulating and exciting. Perhaps it’s the English sporting spirit in me, though I am not English. Perhaps it is the Borgia blood. I’m often jibed for being descended of the Borgias, Cesare in particular, because I never thought anything of it.

Biography bores me, including of my ancestors, so I know little of the Borgia beyond watching Orson Wells in Prince of Foxes.  I know that Savonarola called Rodrigo an “abomination” and Grand daddy hung him over the fire, but I’d do the same if someone called me that. The Savonarolas were scabs. I’d go after the whole family. That’s Italian politics to this day.

I’ve seldom confessed to having an intellectual desire to investigate an old manor supposedly haunted, in the vein of Legend of Hell House or The Haunting.  There are those who know I have looked into a hitherto unknown case in Tahoe. Friends tell me of another ongoing in which things are found missing or moved in the house and the wife, a redhead of Irish heritage of course, is documenting how many times this happens. I will be kept up to date. The previous owner died in the house, and naturally theory falls to targeting the previous owner, who died slowly of a terrible disease. I had met her myself once. In her few times she could come outside and work in her yard, she would notice me ambling about town, as I am known as “the walker.” On the occasion I walked past with a new, short haircut, she said in a friendly way: “You must be trying to get a job.” lohh-sitting

My hair is long again, down to my shoulders, but I try and keep it in a Renaissance way, so I don’t look like a bum.  It makes me look smarter, and considering the topics I investigate I guess it is good to do whatever I can to fool the people.

I often feel that if I investigated claims of hauntings more, I would have no need to fear from an evil spirit. The Borgias always stuck together, and no one wanted to deal with one dead or alive.

On a serious note, how to collate what is genuine and consistent in reports of hauntings? The current case in Glasgow is only confirmed as a poltergeist, and many feel that such events are entirely an electromagnetic manifestation, perhaps even a transient vortex rising up from the core of the planet due to some passing vagary.

What power can fear do to rearrange the EMR of an individual so that “things” happen?

The human brain has the power to transmute the body, but it does not have the energy source. There is simply not enough available to give its massive, divine powers the ability to physically morph enough.

The case of the somnambulist is one in point. Even Arthur C. Clark was fascinated by it. As a young man he had to be tied down in bed with ropes around his forearms. One day when adult he was in surgery. In such a deep sleep as created by the anesthesia the brain was signaled somehow to relive the past. There before the surprised eyes of the doctors the rope marks returned, created by the brain into the skin and flesh of his forearms. Genuine power of creation by thought  . . .but limited to the inner universe.

In an evil, frenzied moment, a madman’s face might morph slightly, drawn back more than just with the grimace of evil, but distorting by the power of his wicked brain as he kills. If you have ever experienced the moment in someone, you know there is that point where the face cannot conceal what is in the heart. Even animals can sense that moment of blood rage and back off.

The brain, the power of the body’s EMR– who knows what a kilter in either can do.

Tests have been done with magnets at the base of the brain (placed on the outside of the skull). Apocalyptic dreams and images of UFOs appear in the brain.

Those who experience what they believe to be ghosts frequently report a dark, hooded figure. But is the wish the father of the thought? This report is the one genuine report from Borley Rectory before Harry Price created all his nonsense. I know it is reported elsewhere. In the case I personally know of in Tahoe, it too is what was seen. The beholder is panic stricken. But are they seeing a projection from their brain or is there something there?

The Catholic Church is most articulate on the matter of ghosts. A person’s spirit may be allowed to return by divine wish. It is rare and brief and then no more. No one can conjure the dead. Mediumship is fake. But the Catholic Church believes demons can run amok. This is the assertion behind anything real that might have happened at 112 Ocean Avenue by those who are Catholic and believe in some of the accounts. It is not the opinion of the Church proper.

So this month, let’s probe into some esoteric mysteries here in between those that are more concrete in their evil– in the cold case murders. Let us try and understand the reports through the history of mankind of fantasma. In our next post let’s dissect what a haunting truly is, and why it is hard to escape it and explain it.

“There is more in heaven and earth, Horatio, than is dreamt of in your philosophy.”

*         *          *

Since 1990 Gian J. Quasar has investigated a broad range of mysterious subjects, from strange disappearances to serial murders, earning in that time the unique distinction of being likened to “the real life Kolchak.” However, he is much more at home with being called The Quester. “He’s bloody eccentric, an historian with no qualifications who sticks his nose into affairs and gets results.” He is the author of several books, one of which inspired a Resolution in Congress.

Leave a Reply

