COLD CASE RUMINATIONS– Knowing verses Proving

The introduction to this blog is on The Quester Files update page, but I think I can just continue here without confusing anybody.

Let me take this time to assure those who are most interested in EAR/ONS that I am still investigating and proceeding forward. The dearth of information has not meant there is no information. It is during my silent periods where I am being the most intense. I am strung out with both ZODIAC and EAR/ONS investigations. I’m sorry for the delays, but as I have told you all my work on these crime cases is intended to culminate in undisputed solution, not the hype that is after the manner of today’s S&M. This requires a piece of evidence in each case which law enforcement can process against what is considered conclusive. For ZODIAC, it is handwriting; for EAR/ONS it is DNA. With EAR/ONS I have opted to take the path to DNA with handwriting there as well.

Remember the sensationalism that has arisen from so many who declared they had a suspect who definitely fit that required to be ZODIAC? Then we all found out who it was, and the suspect was a ludicrous fit to begin with. The subject and my reputation is better served by first rewriting the narrative and impressing the actual facts on the reader. For 4 years I have done this with ZODIAC, creating a schism in yet another topic. Those who preferred the old narrative didn’t want to understand. Those who liked the facts stuck around, sure that at least from me they weren’t going to get some weak S&M suspect based on the old folklore, though I think most remain skeptical that anybody can solve the case in the strictest sense.

I believe it can be solved because I believe that handwriting does exist for my suspect. To what extent The ZODIAC actually disguised his handwriting I do not know. But I believe to an extent that he did. The difference between his basic slanted scrawl and the Red Phantom letter is noticeable. In his last letter he also spelled complex and long words perfectly, but in the previous ones misspelled easy ones in such a way it was obvious he was simply toying with the readers.

ZJuly4

Military records, I believe, hold the solution through handwriting, but I have been stifled trying to get them.

Yes, I could write a commanding thesis in HorrorScope and let the accusation dangle out like an old hag’s tongue. “Remarks want you to make them; they’ve got their tongues dangling out waiting to be said,” to quote Philip Marlowe. I personally know that the lead investigators of the major cold cases that I am independently investigating have all the books written on the subject. However, I also know that most if not all have never real the books from start to finish. They have read parts of them when it is necessary, when tips come in referencing the works, but I do not think that any of them have ever collated and analyzed all that is out there. For EAR/ONS I know this to be a fact, one reason why my section on the Q Files is frequently consulted.

The upshot is that HorrorScope could lead official investigators to dot the i’s and cross the t’s on my suspect. There would be no legal barrier to them getting military documents. But if I do not do this first, how long would it take for one of only a few, if there is even that number, to read my book and proceed? Then, do they have all the data before them? If ZODIAC did disguise his handwriting do they know which is the actual handwriting and which is the fake? Lake_Berryessa_Suspec sketch

The subject may dominate the minds of the buffs, but it does not dominate the minds of the official investigators. They would most likely hear of my book through promotions or if someone emails them. They will skim to the end and read the name. They will contact St. Louis. They will get his file. What will happen then? Even if they agree that my suspect is the most viable fit, they will not make a public announcement.

The pathway to familial testing on DNA is, as I have often reminded, arduous. They need a lot. There’s the DNA on a couple of stamps. But is that ZODIAC’s DNA?

In fact, they need a smoking gun. They want the bullet fired and right on target. This means a dogmatic statement on my part showing the handwriting and how it fits.

I dread that I must move forward with an argumentative thesis that inspires rather than solves. I am trying one more pathway to obtaining handwriting samples on my ZODIAC suspect. I’m not sure if I should release my suspect’s picture yet, though I may release a college grad photo. It is remarkably similar to the Napa sketch above, but not exactly similar of course. How many lame suspects have been turned in because they resembled  a sketch that is merely an outline? Fortunately, it is not the sketch and the suspect’s similarity to it that ties them together as being ZODIAC. But perhaps it is time to release a clear photo.

*         *          *

Since 1990 Gian J. Quasar has investigated a broad range of mysterious subjects, from strange disappearances to serial murders, earning in that time the unique distinction of being likened to “the real life Kolchak.” However, he is much more at home with being called The Quester. “He’s bloody eccentric, an historian with no qualifications who sticks his nose into affairs and gets results.” He is the author of several books, one of which inspired a Resolution in Congress.

4 thoughts on “COLD CASE RUMINATIONS– Knowing verses Proving

  1. I’ve been following your investigation with great interest. Your strict adherence to a scientific method of inquiry is inspiring, and one I wish others would follow. I feel confident it will be you to crack the EAR/ONS case. Good luck. I’m rooting for you.

    Like

  2. The Zodiac Killer mystery plays a big part of my life, too big. Please exorcise this albatross from neck; or at least, give it the old college try.

    Like

Leave a Reply

