Boots on the Ground — Slugging After EAR/ONS

As you all know, I have made it plain that EAR/ONS is a fairly transparent investigation on my part. With ZODIAC I have kept much close to the vest out of necessity. The web section on the ZODIAC on Q Files is for historical purposes.  For EAR/ONS, it is to usher in the solution. However, I do not mention the details of any private conversations I have had with people or with law enforcement.  If it is relevant I will mention only that I had such a conversation (only with LE). Here in this post, let’s talk about some backdoor pursuit to uncovering EAR.

1976Suspect_Icyu2
POI seen on Bourbon Street, near Del Campo Park in November 1976.

 

I believe he did drugs. How much I do not know. It has been difficult to track my prime POI’s activities during much of EAR’s crime spree. He was certainly indulged during those times. He had those contacts I sought and those which brought me too him. But his schedule at this time is not too detailed. He emerges into the records in 1989, as I have reported, and his occupation does not indicate he was gainfully employed in his late teens into his 20s.

I don’t want to believe that EAR/ONS actually wrote that lousy poem “Excitement’s Crave”, but here  is a verse that is interesting:

 

 

Achieving while others lifting
Should be cause for deserving fame.
Leisure tempts excitement seeking,
What’s right and expected seems tame.

Leisure tempts. . .  indeed. My guy might have had more leisure than I can uncover, and indeed EAR may have had more than we realize. He certainly devoted a huge amount of time to stalking his game, so to speak.

If he had leisure, how much money did he have? My POI was from an indulged background, but I could not say wealthy  . . . unless he inherited from a grandparent some stash that kept him going on a part time job basis during youth but then it petered out.  Even a $50,000 dollar inheritance back then would have been a big deal.

But I digress.

I think EAR did drugs. Thus he had a dealer. Many of you know where I am going. In the East Area, dealing was concentrated at Del Campo Park, one of the main stalking hubs EAR used. It was also done in Del Dayo.

EAR1977composite

Boots on the ground investigating has a shot at a backdoor approach to EAR’s identity. Contact the known dealers who are still alive. There is more than one. They were young guys. It was a high school thing. The old guard of sheriffs and Sac PD can remember who they were. One name is well known within EAR circles. Sadly, the name was pursued only as a possible suspect instead of a possible and innocent link.

Rio Americano High and San Juan High dopers (in those days) might be a better link to pursue. Shove some of the old composites (those with the long face) before them and even if 60 years old they might remember one customer who fits the bill.

Many routes must be pursued. We all know it comes down to DNA. Once again, for me this means hand writing matching the prime POI. It could also mean an old dealer fingering him or some other guy as a suspect.

It is time to inspire in this direction . . .

*         *          *

Since 1990 Gian J. Quasar has investigated a broad range of mysterious subjects, from strange disappearances to serial murders, earning in that time the unique distinction of being likened to “the real life Kolchak.” However, he is much more at home with being called The Quester. “He’s bloody eccentric, an historian with no qualifications who sticks his nose into affairs and gets results.” He is the author of several books, one of which inspired a Resolution in Congress.

One thought on “Boots on the Ground — Slugging After EAR/ONS

Leave a Reply

