Colonial Parkway Phantom Murders 1986-89

It appears I am timely yet again– another something that is unusual for me. The Colonial Parkway Murders are hotting up in interest, which is a good thing, and it has become certain now within the chat of true crime that I have detailed photos, thanks to the Virginia operative who is so far unsung by name. My web section is going to be like EAR/ONS and ZODIAC, which I am grateful have become the prototypes for investigation and display online. More information is coming in, so this post is just a little update to forewarn people that my preliminary crime scene pages on Q Files will be undergoing enormous updates as this information comes in.

For instance, I just placed up two nights ago the page on Knobling and Edwards. New information has now come in and I know where the bodies were found in proximity to others and even the state in which Robin Edwards was found. So I must update and change some facts and deductions therefore. She was NOT found clothed at all. The bodies were not found next to each other.

At present I am organizing the third case– Keith Call and Sandra Hailey’s disappearance. But I will be reworking Case 2 as well.

I have a book release upcoming in Spring. I have information which is coming in on EAR/ONS and ZODIAC, but I will continue to juggle the Colonial Parkway Murders in order to have a very accurate and concise section on Q Files like EAR/ONS.

Again, my thanks again to the Virginia operative for taking the time to research and travel and photograph all the locations.

The more I study the case the more I realize that the “phantom” took unusual risks, which he must have felt were not risks at all. I’m beginning to wonder if some weren’t false clues that he planted. As lovers’ lanes killers go, he has more victims than any of them and more anonymity. There is no clue, so far as I know, to his weight, stride, height, features, type of vehicle, nothing.

What is curious is that he stuck to The Zodiac Killer’s MO to strike far and wide in various jurisdictions. He also killed by rope, knife, gun, and in one case used fire– the 4 declared methods of the ZODIAC. He’s not the ZODIAC, of course. But he began his crime spree in 1986, the year that Graysmith’s book on the Zodiac Killer came out. I must find out when that release date was. His was the first book on the ZODIAC.

The Colonial Parkway Killer wasn’t a copycat, but it is interesting to consider if he was inspired by having read the book.

*         *          *

Since 1990 Gian J. Quasar has investigated a broad range of mysterious subjects, from strange disappearances to serial murders, earning in that time the unique distinction of being likened to “the real life Kolchak.” However, he is much more at home with being called The Quester or Q Man. “He’s bloody eccentric, an historian with no qualifications who sticks his nose into affairs and gets results.” He is the author of several books, one of which inspired a Resolution in Congress.

Leave a Reply

