The Shadow Slayer

The Analysis page is now up on the section of The Phantom of Colonial Parkway on Q Files thus completing that section (for now) on the extremely frustrating crimes lumped under the category of the Colonial Parkway Murders. As those who follow my blog know, I had long expressed an interest in this series of “lovers’ lanes” murders. However, I knew as things stood I was not going to be able to get back to Virginia this year to have a look at the crime scenes. This I still need to do, but I think we were all treated when a man in Virginia read my blog post and decided it was time to go and carefully document the scenes.

Wes Dellinger long had an interest in these murders not just because he is a native Virginian but because they are particularly cunning and involved murders and yet at the same time quite vague in details insofar as the public is concerned. Wes was grateful to me for what I had done with EAR/ONS, and when he told me he was going to take pics of the CPM crime scenes, he asked what I wanted. I told him basically like what I did with EAR and Zodiac.

The result was hundreds of pictures which he said I could use for my study and investigation. I knew I had to get up pages, at least with the basics, and use the photos before I forgot the sequence by which the photos came. Most came with a caption informing me as to direction, distance, etc. Wes even paced off Bridle Trail at Shenandoah in order to locate the clearing. He even went to the parking lots where the two victims had been picked up and then dropped off, so that we could get a clear idea of context. Context is everything. The devil is in the details, but truth lies in the body context.

Thanks to Wes the “Phantom of Colonial Parkway” becomes a crucial source of information on the subject, and the pictures allow us to vividly understand the crime scenes to a better extent. This can only help in bringing this series of crimes better attention and hopefully help in solving them. I think everybody in the True Crime/Cold Case community owes him a debt of gratitude. Few people have gone out to document scenes in careful sequence and detail and then share them or offer to share them on the web.

I am certainly grateful. His photos have helped in my understanding, and due to the traffic on the Q Files let’s hope there will now be practical application to his work, as it inspires others to dig deeper and get more answers to all the questions that still exist.

*         *          *

Since 1990 Gian J. Quasar has investigated a broad range of mysterious subjects, from strange disappearances to serial murders, earning in that time the unique distinction of being likened to “the real life Kolchak.” However, he is much more at home with being called The Quester or Q Man. “He’s bloody eccentric, an historian with no qualifications who sticks his nose into affairs and gets results.” He is the author of several books, one of which inspired a Resolution in Congress.

One thought on “The Shadow Slayer

  1. Gian, thank you for the compliments. Over the winter of 17′, we collaborated to form one heck of a team. Between the writings and visuals, we made these tragic, senseless, arrogant, and ignorant murders alot more vivid and realistic in people’s minds.Hopefully, law enforcement will follow suit and release more details in order to solve all of them.

    Like

Leave a Reply

