EAR/ONS– The Controversy From Nowhere

I’ve been likened to “the trots after a chicken soup dinner– most unexpected.” This is probably the main reason why I was greeted with such hostility by many who followed EAR/ONS in concept.  It is the result of my MO– I always play the rogue. I’m not a part of public discussions. I’m not in this for the thrill nor to become a character in the public discourse of a real life comic strip, which, sadly, some topics become.  I investigate with the purpose of solving an object of mystery.

Thus when it becomes public that I’m involved in a topic, sometimes a topic that has a cottage clique, there is a kneejerk reaction from within. For the Zodiac Killer case I uploaded my investigation incrementally. Enthusiasts knew I was involved, though some marveled at how different my take was on it. (I simply followed the clues instead of the online narrative.) The kneejerk wasn’t there.  EARicon

But for EAR I came out of nowhere, and the intensity of my investigation was not even expected. I spent a year preliminary research, then years of active investigation. I believe I started  photographing locations in March 2013. I wrote an introduction to the crime spree years before the final 80 + pages went up. The introduction was greeted favorably. But it was only a general preliminary.

I have never encountered so much controversy (at least online) as in the subject of EAR/ONS. It was then still an arcane case. Perhaps that’s why. A few hundred people knew about it. They obviously had taken sides. When Q Files Night Predator section went up, dozens praised me and came to my side, even though I didn’t have a dog in the fight. The praise was nice though!

I don’t join message boards. I knew nothing of the controversies. Apparently some had promoted themselves as experts on the case, but really had little tangible to show for it. I really don’t know. All I know is that it was a blessing I was completely obtuse to it all.

I had conducted my own investigation. But the extent of my investigation axed a number of favorite POIs, I guess. That was not appreciated by some. Though I had developed my own POI, I uploaded that page last, and it had never influenced the case history pages or analysis. To this day those remain the most popular.

cropped-evidence1

Q Files Night Predator section has been fully in place now 2 years, with some sections uploaded in late 2014, as I recall. In that time the case of the Night Predator has skyrocketed in interest. There’s been a national press conference. The FBI has its own page up. Some radio gigs have done well. Now 48 Hours has done a show, and I know another is coming on another network.

Perhaps it was for the best that I came out of nowhere. The comprehensive result of my investigation so jolted the web that some 50,000 came in during 1 day from a Reddit link. It started the controversy. It got thousands interested, and this attracted the news.

But as for the PR controversies, I am not involved. I remain a rogue. I continue my investigation. Let those who want beat their chests and create sides as to whose disciple they are. I entered this and remain controversially at its center because I strove not become a character in the discourse, though so it seems I have become. I wanted my investigation to speak for me. I remain in to solve it, and the solution will be just as public as the results of the investigation have been.  And then, as a famous Chinese philosopher once said, “When you come to the last page, close the book.”

*         *          *

Since 1990 Gian J. Quasar has investigated a broad range of mysterious subjects, from strange disappearances to serial murders, earning in that time the unique distinction of being likened to “the real life Kolchak.” However, he is much more at home with being called The Quester or Q Man. “He’s bloody eccentric, an historian with no qualifications who sticks his nose into affairs and gets results.” He is the author of several books, one of which inspired a Resolution in Congress.

2 thoughts on “EAR/ONS– The Controversy From Nowhere

  1. In my view, your investigation has done more than anything one will likely ever find on the pro boards. More often than not the true crime mystery buffs and regulars on there are just in it for the thrill, outside of a few such as Murdoc. Keep up the good work.

    Like

  2. I agree with Rik; the Proboards are plagued by rumour, false memory, and a conspiracy theorist for a moderator. I would like to suggest, however, that some parts of the Quester Files on the Night Predator/EARONS are missing: The Mystery of the Silent Dog, Phone Calls, and Thwarted!

    Like

Leave a Reply

