Investigative Journalism verses Real life Investigating

I am in line yet again to star in another TV series.  This time it is not a “reality TV” show but a series of documentaries along the “muscular curiosity” theme. I am more at home with this. It will let me showcase real life investigation, and if it works it may branch off into more topics, including Cold Case.

This will be of enormous help to me since with a respected company backing me, information can be more easily obtained. I still need much more on NORCAL, The Doodler, and other topics and cases.

It will be made by a British production company, which means frankly it will be much more honest than anything American. Sad to say, but it is the truth.

Like all others they like my moniker “Q Man.”

But on a substantive note, if this goes through and expands I can tackle many topics with real life investigation.

I know that I have been praised for “investigative journalism.” But that is not what I am. It’s a compliment when considered in the purest form. But today “investigative journalism” is often just finding talking heads who were associated with a topic, then processing the information and preparing it for presentation. This is NOT investigating a case. This is merely preparing it for presentation.

A series of true life investigations of mysterious cases I think is along overdue. So many shows have only shown a scavenging of popular topics, the inevitable reenactments of famous incidents like D.B. Cooper’s skyjacking, The Roswell Incident, an investigation of a single cattle mutilation played along a regurgitating narrative, and always some claim and fuzzy game camera shot of a “BIGFOOT.”

The development producer knows that I have written my own narrative in these topics and that except for the Triangle I have been publically shunned because my investigation has not justified the dominant narrative.  This seems to be in my favor, as TV audiences have gotten tired of the same regurgitation and scavenging.

So wish me luck. I would not be an inquisitive mind rehashing the same topics from a slightly different perspective or from a recently discovered “clue” used as a hook to rehash an old and overproduced story. It will be groundbreaking investigation.

I hope I get lots of makeup. I’ll need it.

It’s a long road. But it is time to walk it.

*         *          *

Since 1990 Gian J. Quasar has investigated a broad range of mysterious subjects, from strange disappearances to serial murders, earning in that time the unique distinction of being likened to “the real life Kolchak.” However, he is much more at home with being called The Quester or Q Man. “He’s bloody eccentric, an historian with no qualifications who sticks his nose into affairs and gets results.” He is the author of several books, one of which inspired a Resolution in Congress.

One thought on “Investigative Journalism verses Real life Investigating

Leave a Reply

