Born and Reborn on the 4th of July

Seventeen years ago TV-wise I was born on the 4th of July when a TV producer making a segment for This Week in History contacted me about appearing on The History Channel. I said I was going to the Okefenokee for preliminary research on the track of Flight 19. He jumped at it. Thus I entered TV after only a year on the web with my own amateur website.

I forsook TV 5 years ago after a June 29 shooting. I don’t like watching myself and I never watched any of the shows. But I had gotten on Facebook and people began to tell me how I had been framed sometimes. I received some compliments, but I was horrified by the likes of those I did check out with which I was somehow associated. I would never wish to be lumped with those who hunt vampires and little people and whose hair looks like they stuck their foot in the toilette and a thumb in the light socket.  To hell with it, I thought. TV didn’t pay anyway and all these promises to show my book covers didn’t amount to any significant sales.

I did not join the fray to make these so called “paranormal” topics “respectable.” This implies I want to hang out in them. I don’t. I wanted to solve them. For some I had to spend a lengthy and sometimes very rewarding time just putting them back together in order to advance. Folklore dominated. Hype and Hyperbole was everywhere.

But to be a talking head that goes nowhere? Eeek!

I do not move within a narrative. I write my own. I am not acted upon by a topic. I act upon the topic. I am not led by claims. I search out the truth.

For example, a modicum, just a modicum, of research tells us that Bigfoot-Sasquatch is limited to the Pacific Northwest of Canada and the United States. What is the logical conclusion? That is where you go look. In order to legitimize “investigating” all over the nation there are those who merely respond to people making a claim they saw something hairy in the woods, even if these are woods in Indiana. “Investigating” is justified became a claim was made. It must be looked into. Shows can be built around this thin justification. But true research doesn’t allow for such claims to be entertained seriously. Those who do fall victim to this are being acted upon, but they are not acting upon or leading the topic anywhere fruitful.

Now, again, this time of year, I might be reborn again on TV with my own show in which I can with a very honest production company set out to investigate for real. Not react. Not set in motion by a wisp of current wind. Investigate. It won’t be a “Reality TV” show.  But it would be by genuine documentary filmmakers– invariably British.  A series of hour long shows documenting accurately and following through to set in stone the truth of the matter.  . . ideally.

Hopefully, it turns out. It starts with the Triangle but if the network likes it there just may be the TV version of The Quester Files in which I can investigate many things and at the very least establish the direction where we must go in order to find the solution.

*         *          *

Since 1990 Gian J. Quasar has investigated a broad range of mysterious subjects, from strange disappearances to serial murders, earning in that time the unique distinction of being likened to “the real life Kolchak.” However, he is much more at home with being called The Quester or Q Man. “He’s bloody eccentric, an historian with no qualifications who sticks his nose into affairs and gets results.” He is the author of several books, one of which inspired a Resolution in Congress.

One thought on “Born and Reborn on the 4th of July

  1. I really hope this show materializes. I really enjoy your books and your style. I totally get you!! I wonder about things but you take it a step further and investigate why we wonder and if it’s an illusionor reality. Your my Favorite!!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

