EAR/ONS & RP– DETAILS OF THE HUNT FOR DNA

I’ve been asked for a lot more details on the process, and as it stands I cannot really elaborate. But a very detailed article will be written afterward whether RP is or is not EAR. I’m not being fed information from within blow-by-blow as it unfolds. Several in law enforcement have walked me through the time line that it takes. I have a general time frame in which I will know for certain.

I can answer definitely that DNA exists, was located, and sought through the legal channels available. If the answer is positive, obviously we will all know. If negative, I will inform everybody and then go into maneuvers with the others on my wrecking list.

As you know, I was stifled without response from another jurisdiction. I believed this was because there wasn’t enough probable case to get familial DNA. So on my own I sought handwriting examples as one way to goose the action on nailing RP. I believed if it matched with the paperwork that was found in Danville that this would be enough probable cause to seek familial DNA, a huge hurdle to overcome and one not easily done so. Just recall what the Boston Police had to do with the Boston Strangler case– they had to stalk the suspect’s nephew and snatch his Evian water bottle.

The difference here is I am dealing with a POI who is my personal POI. He was never a suspect. He was never on the list of POIs. He was never in the public eye due to books and even a movie like DeSalvo had been. The strength of my investigation alone has paved the way.  This is unique. There is no book. All know I will write no book.  But the Night Predator section of the Q Files has generated over 1,000,000 hits, more than any crime book sales have amounted to. It is more easily accessed  than any book, and it remains for the entire world to access.

One jurisdiction is running with the information. This I can tell you, in the interim since I have turned in RP, they have nailed other nasties from at least 30 years ago with DNA and members of the jurisdiction have had to travel to other states to pick them up.  So the information is in good hands and they are following up on everything. This will not be dead end. We will not be left hanging.

But red tape takes time.

As it stands, we await test results. How long? I have said a couple of weeks.  I don’t really know. When I find out, you will find out. I am eager to close this case. I have the ZODIAC on my back, and D.B. Cooper. The EAR/ONS case reminds me of nothing but years of investigation, traveling, mental nitpicking to uncover clues, a case that (unlike ZODIAC) there was no released official information, no list of suspects, no police logs, no popular history in which there existed a stash of suspects. There was NO ONE to investigate. There was nothing but case after depressing case of rape and then murder.  There was nothing but walking and re-walking neighborhoods that were becoming disturbingly identical and with this the realization came of an incredibly premeditative and calculating predator, a menacing phantom that had selected them long ago, somehow, somehow, finding incredibly similar communities (in layout) over the state.

This was the object of my quest. I had no profile but the repeating theme of a true night stalker.  . . and the few clues that indicated auto-wrecking. From this I located RP. Nothing placed him as a direct employee of a family concern, but he was around it all, fit in appearance, height, had VWs, and was the one who would remain unsuspected because his official address was far away in Placerville, but he had two secret lairs in the East Area from which he could come and go relatively unobserved.

RP rose to prominence in my list because looking at the East Area strike points revealed a predator who was not entirely based in the area but seemed to be coming to it from the east. Had he been comfortably based and independent in the area in the beginning it is surprising that EAR waited so long to branch out north of Highway 80.

Out of the thousands who have been suspected, out of the hundreds that have been DNA tested, it is now his turn. For years I investigated the crime spree, NOT suspects. This alone led me to RP and a couple of others. This was the only pathway to open up the investigation.

When it comes time that I can speak, you will be amazed at what a couple of jurisdictions were ready to do to expand the investigation and garner new POIs.

Hopefully none of it will be necessary. Hopefully DNA tags him very soon. The books will be closed on EAR,  but no one will be able to figure what kind of mind could so devote itself to a crime spree like this unparalleled in the annals of crime.

*         *          *

Since 1990 Gian J. Quasar has investigated a broad range of mysterious subjects, from strange disappearances to serial murders, earning in that time the unique distinction of being likened to “the real life Kolchak.” However, he is much more at home with being called The Quester or Q Man. “He’s bloody eccentric, an historian with no qualifications who sticks his nose into affairs and gets results.” He is the author of several books, one of which inspired a Resolution in Congress.

One thought on “EAR/ONS & RP– DETAILS OF THE HUNT FOR DNA

Leave a Reply

